Institutional Collaboration

Preserving democracy is the business of every sector of society and every political constituency. Educational institutions. Big business. Small business. Faith groups. Media. Trade associations. Military associations. Think tanks. Cultural organizations. NGOs.

Here is the (ever-growing) roster of groups lending support for Purple’s efforts:

  • American Enterprise Institute

  • Arizona State University

  • Association of Magazine Media

  • Augsburg University Public Work Academy

  • Brookings Institution

  • Central Michigan University School of Public Service & Global Citizenship

  • College Promise Campaign

  • Digital Content Next

  • Digital Entertainment Group

  • Columbia School of Journalism duPont Awards

  • Freedom Forum

  • George Washington University School of Media and Public Affairs

  • Harris Polls

  • Hearst newspapers

  • iCivics/CivXNow

  • Inland Newspaper Association

  • Institute for Policy and Civic Engagement, University of Illinois, Chicago

  • Issue One

  • Jonathan M. Tisch College of Civic Life at Tufts University

  • Leadership Now Project

  • ListenFirst Project

  • National Association for Media Literacy Education

  • National Association of Women Judges

  • National Conference on Citizenship

  • National Coalition for Dialogue & Deliberation

  • National Council for the Social Studies

  • *National Judicial College

  • News Media Alliance

  • One America Movement


  • RadioPublic/Podfund

  • Reagan Foundation

  • Renew Democracy Initiative

  • Southern Newspaper Publishers Association

  • Take Back Our Republic

  • The Bridge Alliance


Content Partners

The Purple organization will not centrally create the campaign’s content. That effort will be distributed among scores or hundreds of content partners – from newspapers to songwriters to video-game publishers to YouTubers to streaming platforms. And everything inbetween. They will do so according to their own editorial sensibilities, audiences and business models – so long as the results are free of policy advocacy or partisan skew. The Purple organization will supply resources and research, and amplify distribution reach, but will not dictate how any given partner tells the democracy story.

Here are some of the early participants:


Brand Partners

Purple will license its logo to a maximum of 10 consumer brands who wish, in a newly “purposeful” marketing climate, to associate themselves with the effort to strengthen American democracy. Marketers seeking a brand-safe cause – both constructive and patriotic – will be able announce themselves as Proud Supporters of the Purple Project for Democracy in their advertising, on their packaging and at all consumer touchpoints.


Developmental Contributors


Project Advisors


Civic Engagement

  • Daniella Ballou-Aares, Leadership Now Project

  • Rebecca Burgess, American Enterprise Institute

  • Jeff Coates, National Conference on Citizenship

  • Meaghann Curtis, Leadership Now Project

  • Louise Dube, iCivics and CivXNow

  • Michael Hansen, Brookings Institution

  • Elaine Kamarck, Brookings Institution

  • Martha Kanter, College Promise Campaign

  • India Meissel, National Council for the Social Studies

  • Karen Murphy, Facing History and Ourselves

  • Alberto Reyes-Olivas, Arizona State University

  • Lawrence Paska, National Council for the Social Studies

  • Anthony Pennay, Ronald Reagan Presidential Foundation and Institute

  • Jayne Cherie Strachan, Central Michigan University

  • Lauren Ziegler, Brookings Institution

Corporate Sponsorship

  • Joseph Tripodi, consultant and member of boards

Faith Groups

  • Cynthia Astle, United Methodist Insight

Live events

  • Tom Wirtshafter, Town Hall

  • Michael Sexton, Public Theater

  • Robert Van Leer, Kennedy Center

  • Steve Gottleib,

  • Sandy Hierbacher, National Coalition for Dialogue and Deliberation


  • Susan Goldberg, National Geographic

  • Linda Thomas Brooks, Association of Magazine Media

Marketing, Advertising and Public Relations

  • Craig Bland, The Engagement Studio

  • David Cooperstein, Figurr

  • Nadine Dietz, CMO Moves

  • Scott Donaton, Digitas

  • John Durham, Catalyst S+F

  • Alona Fromberg-Elkayam, Brandinista

  • Jeff Goodby, GS&P

  • Nicole Larrauri, ECG Group

  • Mark Naples, Wit Strategy

  • Frances Webster, Walrus


Media Studies

  • Vanessa Greenwood, Montcalir State University

  • Michelle Lipkin, National Association for Media Literacy Education

  • Frank Sesno, George Washington University School of Media and Public Affairs


  • Rivers Rutherford, songwriter/performer


  • Audrey Cooper, San Francisco Chronicle

  • David Chavern, News Media Alliance

  • Edward VanHorn, Southern Newspaper Publishers Association


  • Mark Siegel, First Second Books/Macmillan

Radio and Podcast

  • Laura Walker

  • Jake Shapiro, RadioPublic/Podfund

  • Abby Goldstein, PRPD

  • Charles Kravetz

Social Media

  • Rob Bennett

  • Chris Abraham Gerris Digital

  • Misha Collins, actor

TV and Film

  • Jason Hirschhorn, Redef Group

  • Amy Jo Smith, CEO Digital Entertainment Group

  • Jon Kamen, @RadicalMedia

Video Games

  • Jakub Kasztalski, Unbound Creations

Word of Mouth

  • Ted Wright, Fizz